Sonifications – Audible Data Streams, Berlin 27.- 29.10.2017

The Berlin Society of New Music presents the festival Sonifications

Villa Elisabeth, Invalidenstraße 4a, 10115 Berlin

How does a pulsar sound? What noises are made at night by a dreaming human brain? What might we hear when New York guitarist Hans Tammen sonifies his own DNA data live on stage during his „Endangered Guitar“? How does a Swiss Alpine panorama transform into a concert soundscape?

Technically speaking, sonification refers to the process of making data audible. Its historical roots date back to the time of Pythagoras, who used acoustic experiments on a monochord to demonstrate mathematical relationships. With the advent of digital interfaces and coding, sonification developed rapidly in music as an acoustic counterpart to visualization in the arts. Since the mid-1980s, new trends emerged bringing forth a broad spectrum of artistic production, often in collaboration with scientific practice and theory.

At this point, it is no longer a technical problem to sonify non-musical processes, such as ocean currents, or share prices, as a form of artistically representing scientific data. Instead, the more critical question has shifted to, at what point does an object of artistic-scientific research become an artefact? How can the arts complete the logical next step of using the physical experience of data to establish a new relationship to reality for listeners? What criteria determine aesthetic content and make a work based on sonification its own independent musical work?

The three day festival Sonifications – Audible Data Streams presented by the Berlin Society of New Music, explores these questions between Friday 27th and Sunday 29th of October 2017 in the Villa Elisabeth, Berlin, presenting a selection of current sonification strategies: compositions, sound installations and performances of outstanding artistic merit.

Special attention is given to live experience – the direct, sensory experience of sonification. For this, the festival offers an impressive line-up of concerts and performances.

The Berlin Society for New Music commissioned compositions exclusively for the festival through an open call for works of „Percussion / drums / objects with or without live electronics“, „1 – 4 strings with or without live electronics“ and „live electronics with a maximum of 8 loudspeakers”.

csm_sonification_web_32770473f5

The selected pieces for „Percussion / drums / objects with or without live electronics“ are the real-time sonifications „From Cloud To Fog“ (Goldox, Guffond, Heissmeyer) and the premiere of „Listening Back“ (Guffond), which can be heard from 8pm on October 27. Solo performances by Hans Tammen, Åsa Stjerna, and Ricardo Climent are live the same evening. The 3D-data solo dance performance „Embodiment of WiFi Traffic“ by Japanese choreographer and dancer Tomoko Mio, based on Jutta Ravenna’s data sound window, can be seen for the first time on this Friday and at two additional performances during the festival.

A special highlight awaits audiences Saturday night at 8pm. The internationally renowned Berlin Kairos Quartet will be premiering works designed through the call: „Dérive“ (for string quartet and live electronics) by Lula Romero and „Resolution“ by Luc Döbereiner (for cello, transducer and live electronics).
In addition, the Kairos Quartet will be preforming two pieces from their own repertoire by Iannis Xenakis and Julio Estrada. The legendary Fluxus artist Terry Fox will be honored in a grand closing of the second festival day. Seeing the Berlin wall from his studio window at the beginning of the 1980s, Fox created „a sound map, a score, a kind of audible geography of this structure“. Arnold Dreyblatt interpreted and realized an instrumental version of „Berlin Wall Scored for Sound“ for string quartet, which will be played by the Kairos Quartet.

As well, on the Sunday, truly classic works of sonication can be experienced: „Panorama“ and „Copied Lines“ by Alvin Lucier. „Panorama“ from 1993, dedicated to Swiss composer and trombone player Roland Dahinden, is based on sonifying a drawing of a panorama of alpine mountain woods, as seen from the Swiss city train. Lucier derived frequencies from mountain heights and durations from their distances. The alpine silhouette is translated to the pitch range of a trombone. „Copied Lines“ is Lucier’s revision of „Panorama“ from 2011, again for trombone, but with 13 strings rather than piano. Performed by Roland Dahinden and the ensemble Junge Streicher of the music school Berlin-Pankow.

In addition – as a Swiss special – the improvisations „free lines_one“ and „free lines_two“ will be performed by Roland Dahinden (trombone), his constant piano accompanist Hildegard Kleeb, and Alexandre Babel on drums.
Swiss performance artist Mio Chareteau closes the concert in an extraordinary way with „White Piece“. On the borderlines of still life, minimalist music and careful performance, Chareteau designed a piece for piano and 150 white paper cards, in which pianist Hildegard Kleeb produces sound without even touching her instrument.

Along with this extensive concert and performance program, the festival investigates the aesthetic content of sonification through a program of discourse.
Germany radio editor Marcus Gammel, who has done great service to the topic for years through his program series „Sonarisationen“ discusses the role of sonification as an interface between science and art, with guests Werner Cee, Sukandar Kartadinata, Dr. Thomas Hermann, Rodrigo Pérez-Garcia and Prof. Alberto de Campo. As a live act, sound artist Cee and instrument maker Kartadinata make „KLIMA | ANLAGE” which offers a sensory experience of climate change.

A subsequent panel, also moderated by Marcus Gammel, brings us even further into compositional aspects of sonication with: „Sonification as extending compositional means: Sonification-Interfaces as Instrument?“ Participants are: sound artists Åsa Stjerna, Jasmine Guffond and Marcus Schmickler, as well as sonification experts Prof. Florian Dombois and Prof. Volker Straebel.

A further panel on Sunday will be devoted to artistic dimensions of sonification. After a Keynote by Prof. Marc Bangert and Julian Klein, panel members Hans Tammen, Ricardo Climent, Julian Klein and Prof. Stefan Weinzierl discuss: „Sonification versus Composition“. Moderation: Prof. Michael Harenberg.

Beyond the live performances, concerts and panels, there are further offerings for the audience: Additionally to five sound installations that will be freely accessible throughout the festival (YoHa, „Lungs – Slave Labour“, Florian Dombois, “Circum Pacific 5.1”, Julian Klein, „Brain Study”, Martin Hachmann “Fear” and Jutta Ravenna’s interactive data sound window „SesameSesame“), there will be a sound cabinet with materials about Terry Fox’s work „Berlino“, and a soundbar with a commented listening program, including the sonification of comet 76P / Chryumov-Gerasimenko by Manuel Senfft. The „ZKM-Selection“ of the festival partner Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe presents its own examples of outstanding sonification art, including Marcus Schmickler’s „Bonn Patternisation“ from 2012 and Ludger Brümmer’s „Spin“ from 2014.
Artistic direction: Jutta Ravenna Program book: Julia H. Schröder Design: cyan Marketing: k3 berlin – Kontor für Kultur und Kommunikation Head of production: Vilém Wagner Organizer: Berlin Society of New Music

The details of the program / lineup:

audible-data-stream

 

Current Research, dates / , , , , .
Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*
*

Sonifikationen – klingende Datenströme, Berlin 27.- 29.10.2017

Die Berliner Gesellschaft für Neue Musik präsentiert das Festival Sonifikationen – klingende Datenströme

Villa Elisabeth, Invalidenstraße 4a, 10115 Berlin

Wie klingt ein Pulsar? Wie klingt es, wenn nachts das menschliche Gehirn träumt? Wie, wenn der New Yorker Gitarrist Hans Tammen auf der Bühne mit seiner „Endangered Guitar“ live die Daten seiner eigenen DNA sonifiziert? Wie verwandelt sich ein Schweizer Alpenpanorama in eine konzertante Klanglandschaft?

Rein technisch gesehen bezeichnet Sonifikation Verfahren zur Verklanglichung von Daten. Die historischen Wurzeln reichen zurück bis in die Zeit des Pythagoras, der mathematische Beziehungen durch akustische Experimente auf dem Monochord demonstrierte. Mit dem Aufkommen digitaler Schnittstellen und ihrer Codes entwickelte sich die Sonifikation, als akustisches Pendant zur Visualisierung in der Bildenden Kunst, nun auch in der Musik rasant. Seit Mitte der 1980er Jahre entstand eine neue Strömung, die ein breites Spektrum künstlerischer Produktionen, oftmals in Kooperation mit den Wissenschaften, hervorbrachte.

Mittlerweile stellt die Sonifizierung außermusikalischer Vorgänge wie Meeresströmungen oder Aktienkurse als Form der künstlerischen Nutzung wissenschaftlicher Daten technisch kein Problem mehr dar. Umso entscheidender ist die Frage geworden, ab welchem Punkt ein Objekt künstlerisch‐wissenschaftlicher Forschungen zum Artefakt wird. Wie kann den Künsten der nächste folgerichtige Schritt gelingen, über physische Erfahrungen mit Daten für den Hörer einen neuen Wirklichkeitsbezug herzustellen? Welche Kriterien bestimmen den ästhetischen Gehalt und machen eine auf Sonifizierung beruhende Arbeit zu einem eigenständigen musikalischen Werk?

Das dreitägige Festival Sonifikation – klingende Datenströme der Berliner Gesellschaft für Neue Musik untersucht diese Fragen von Freitag, dem 27. bis Sonntag, dem 29. Oktober 2017 in der Berliner Villa Elisabeth und präsentiert aus der Vielfalt aktueller Sonifikationsstrategien Kompositionen, Klanginstallationen und Performances, die dem Anspruch eines künstlerischen Objektes gerecht werden.

Besondere Aufmerksamkeit gilt dem Live-Erlebnis, der sinnlichen, direkten Erfahrbarkeit von Sonifikation. Und so bietet das Festival ein eindrucksvolles Line-Up in Konzerten und Performances.

BGNM-sw-Logo
Die Berliner Gesellschaft für Neue Musik hatte exklusiv für das Festival in einem Open Call Kompositionsaufträge für „Perkussion/Schlagwerk/Objekte mit oder ohne Live-Elektronik“, „1 – 4 Streicher mit oder ohne Live-Elektronik“ sowie „Live-Elektronisches Equipment mit maximal 8 Lautsprechern“ ausgeschrieben.
Die ausgewählten Stücke für „Perkussion/Schlagwerk/Objekte mit oder ohne Live-Elektronik“ sind die Echtzeit-Sonifikationen „From Cloud To Fog“(Goldox, Guffond, Heissmeyer) und die Uraufführung „Listening Back“ (Guffond), zu erleben am Freitag, 27. Oktober, ab 20 Uhr. Außerdem live an diesem Abend Solo-Performances von Hans Tammen, Åsa Stjerna, Ricardo Climent. Die 3D-Daten-Solo-Tanz-Performance „Embodiment of WLAN-Traffic“ der japanischen Choreografin und Tänzerin Tomoko Mio, beruhend auf dem Daten-Klangfenster von Jutta Ravenna, ist an diesem Freitag erstmals und im Verlauf des Festivals dann noch zwei weitere Male zu sehen.

Ein besonderes Highlight erwartet das Publikum am Samstagabend um 20 Uhr. Das international renommierte Berliner Kairos Quartett gestaltet die über den Open Call ausgewählten Werke „Dérive“ (für Streichquartett und Live-Elektronik) von Lula Romero und „Auflösung“ von Luc Döbereiner (für Cello, Transducer und Live-Elektronik), beides Uraufführungen.
Außerdem bringt das Kairos Quartett drei Stücke aus dem eigenen Repertoire von Iannis Xenakis, Knut Müller und Martin Iddon. Zum großartigen Abschluss des zweiten Festivaltages wird der legendäre Fluxus-Künstler Terry Fox gewürdigt. Fox hatte Anfang der 1980er Jahre angesichts der Berliner Mauer vor seinem Atelierfenster „eine Klangkarte, eine Partitur, eine Art hörbare Geografie dieser Struktur“ angefertigt. Arnold Dreyblatt interpretierte und realisierte von „Berlin Wall Scored for Sound” eine Instrumentalversion für Streichquartett, das Kairos Quartett spielt.

audibledatastreams

Auch am Festival-Sonntag sind Werke eines wahren Klassikers der Sonifikation zu erleben: „Panorama“ und „Copied Lines“ von Alvin Lucier. Dem Schweizer Komponisten und Posaunisten Roland Dahinden gewidmet, basiert „Panorama“ aus dem Jahr 1993 auf der Sonifikation einer Zeichnung des von der Schweizer Stadt Zug aus betrachteten Waldspitzpanoramas. Lucier leitete die Frequenzen von den Höhen der Berge und die Dauern von ihren Distanzen ab. Die Alpensilhouette wird auf den Tonhöhenverlauf der Posaune übertragen. „Copied Lines“ ist Luciers Neubearbeitung von „Panorama“ aus dem Jahr 2011, wiederum für Posaune, aber anstelle des Klaviers mit 13 Streichern; ausgeführt von Roland Dahinden und dem Ensemble Junge Streicher der Musikschule Berlin-Pankow.
Außerdem – als Schweiz-Spezial – die Improvisationen „free lines_one“ und „free lines_two“ mit Roland Dahinden (Posaune), seiner ständigen Klavierpartnerin Hildegard Kleeb sowie Alexandre Babel am Schlagzeug.
Mit dem „White Piece“ der Schweizer Performance-Künstlerin Mio Chareteau schließt das Festival auf besondere Weise. An der Grenze zwischen Stillem Leben, minimalistischer Musik und sorgfältiger Performance hat Chareteau ein Stück für Klavier und 150 weiße Papierkarten konzipiert, bei dem die Pianistin Hildegard Kleeb ihr Instrument gar nicht berührt und doch Klang erzeugt.

Ergänzend und vertiefend zu diesem ausführlichen Konzert- und Performanceprogramm untersucht das Festival mit weiteren Diskurs-Veranstaltungen den ästhetischen Gehalt von Sonifikation.
Deutschlandfunk-Redakteur Marcus Gammel, der sich seit vielen Jahren in seiner Sendereihe „Sonarisationen“ um das Thema verdient macht, diskutiert am Samstag mit seinen Gästen Werner Cee, Sukandar Kartadinata, Dr. Thomas Hermann, Rodrigo Pérez-Garcia und Prof. Alberto de Campo die Frage nach der Rolle von Sonifikation als Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und Kunst. Als Live-Act machen Klangkünstler Cee und Instrumentenbauer Kartadinata mit „KLIMA | ANLAGE“ den Klimawandel sinnlich erfahrbar.
Ein folgendes Panel, moderiert ebenfalls von Marcus Gammel, führt noch näher an den kompositorischen Aspekt von Sonifikation heran: „Sonification as extending compositional means: Sonifications‐Interfaces as Instrument?“ TeilnehmerInnen hier die KlangkünstlerInnen Åsa Stjerna, Jasmine Guffond, Marcus Schmickler, sowie die Sonifikationsexperten Prof. Volker Straebel und Prof. Florian Dombois.
Auch am Sonntag widmet sich ein weiteres Panel den künstlerischen Dimensionen der Sonifikation. Nach einer Key-Note von Prof. Marc Bangert und Julian Klein diskutieren unter dem Titel „Sonifikation versus Komposition“ Hans Tammen, Ricardo Climent, Julian Klein und Prof. Stefan Weinzierl. Moderation: Prof. Michael Harenberg .

Zusätzlich zu den live erlebbaren Konzerten, Performances und Panels gibt weitere Angebote für das Publikum: Neben fünf während des gesamten Festivals frei zugänglichen Klanginstallationen (YoHa, „Lungs ‐ Slave Labour“; Florian Dombois, „Circum Pacific 5.1“; Julian Klein, „Brain Study“; Martin Hachmann, „Angst“; Jutta Ravennas interaktives Daten-Klangfenster „SesamSesam“) ist neben einer Klangvitrine mit Materialien zu Terry Fox Arbeit „Berlino“ außerdem eine Soundbar mit einem kommentierten Hörangebot eingerichtet, u.a. mit der Sonifikation des Kometen 76P/Chryumov‐Gerasimenko von Manuel Senfft. Die „ZKM-Selection“ des Festivalpartners Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe präsentiert eigene Beispiele herausragender Sonifikationskunst, u.a. Marcus Schmicklers „Bonner Durchmusterung“ von 2012 und Ludger Brümmers „Spin“ aus dem Jahr 2014.

Künstlerische Leitung: Jutta Ravenna Programmbuch: Julia H. Schröder Gestaltung: cyan Presse: k3 berlin – Kontor für Kultur und Kommunikation Produktion: Berliner Gesellschaft für Neue Musik

Anlässlich des Festivals erscheint ein Programmbuch (deutsch und englisch) mit Essays im Wolke-Verlag. Es kann während des Festivals erworben werden oder beim Verlag bestellt werden: „Sonifikation: Transfer ins Musikalische. Programmbuch zum Festival Sonifikationen – klingende Datenströme | Sonification: Transfer into Musical Arts. Program Book for the Festival Sonifications – Audible Data Streams“, Hofheim: Wolke, 2017

Das Programm findet sich hier:

audible-data-streams

 

Aktuelle Forschung, Termine / , , , , .
Trackback-URL.

Einen Kommentar abgeben

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*
*