Reframing Worlds – Mobility and Gender in a Postcolonial, Feminist Perspective, 4.11.-21.1.2018

Galerie im Körnerpark: 4 November 2018 – 21 January 2018
nGbK: 2 December 2017 – 21 January 2018

Friday 03rd November 2017, 18h, Exhibition Opening: Galerie im Körnerpark
Sunday 05th November 2017, 17h, Performance: Unlistening White Feminism – Ida Pfeiffer’s Travel Diaries Revisited (en), Galerie im Körnerpark, A Sound-Performance by Antye Greie aka AGF
Friday 01st December 2017, 19h, Exhibition Opening: nGbK

Akinbode Akinbiyi, Maria Thereza Alves, Hasan Aksaygın & Aykan Safoğlu, Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro & Anaïs Héraud-Louisadat, Pauline Boudry & Renate Lorenz, Antye Greie aka AGF, Rajkamal Kahlon, Susanne Kriemann, Marisa Maza, Judith Raum, Mathilde ter Heijne, Katrin Winkler, Moira Zoitl

“Reframing Worlds” is an exhibition that brings together work by Berlin artists dealing with the lives and works of a diverse group of women including Gertrude Bell, Agatha Christie, Maria Mandessi Bell Diop, Mia May, Sayyida Salme Princess of Oman and Zanzibar alias Emily Ruete, and Ida Pfeiffer.
Colonialist influenced mindsets, imagery, and categories of knowledge that are still in effect today are the departure points; their historic structures are to be laid bare and examined. The artists follow experiences of oppression, resistance, and migration in their research, which encompasses travel reports, life stories, plant worlds, photographs and other objects. They investigate where and in what ways traces are still visible, and critically discuss ways to deal with archives and archival material today as well as their own roles as knowledge producers.

Mathilde ter Heijne, Women to Go, 2009 ongoing, Photo: Nihad Nino Pusija

Mathilde ter Heijne, Women to Go, 2009 ongoing, Photo: Nihad Nino Pusija

The exhibition not only reveals gaps in the historiography, but also challenges the kind of knowledge that was produced in the context of the colonial projects and circulated Europe. Who produces knowledge about the world and in which way? How do the complex intersections between racism and sexism continue to affect us, and how can we imagine and practise feminism transculturally and in solidarity?

ngbk.de

Kunst, dates / , , , .
Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*
*

Reframing Worlds – Mobilität und Gender aus postkolonial, feministischer Perspektive, Berlin nGbK/Galerie im Körnerpark, 4.11.2017 – 21.01.2018

Galerie im Körnerpark: 4. November 2017 – 21. Januar 2018
nGbK: 2. Dezember 2017 –  21. Januar 2018

Friday 03rd November 2017, 18h, Exhibition Opening: Galerie im Körnerpark
Sunday 05th November 2017, 17h, Performance: Unlistening White Feminism – Ida Pfeiffer’s Travel Diaries Revisited (en), Galerie im Körnerpark, A Sound-Performance by Antye Greie aka AGF
Friday 01st December 2017, 19h, Exhibition Opening: nGbK

Akinbode Akinbiyi, Maria Thereza Alves, Hasan Aksaygın & Aykan Safoğlu, Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro & Anaïs Héraud-Louisadat, Pauline Boudry & Renate Lorenz, Antye Greie aka AGF, Rajkamal Kahlon, Susanne Kriemann, Marisa Maza, Judith Raum, Mathilde ter Heijne, Katrin Winkler, Moira Zoitl

Die Ausstellung versammelt Arbeiten Berliner Künstler*innen, die sich mit dem Leben und Werk so unterschiedlicher Frauen wie Gertrude Bell, Agatha Christie, Maria Mandessi Bell Diop, Mia May, Sayyida Salme Prinzessin von Oman und Sansibar alias Emily Ruete oder Ida Pfeiffer auseinandersetzen.
Ausgangspunkte sind bis heute wirksame kolonialistisch geprägte Denkweisen, Bildwelten und Wissenskategorien, deren geschichtliche Konstruktionen offengelegt und reflektiert werden. In ihren Recherchen, die sich mit Reiseberichten, Lebensgeschichten, Pflanzenwelten, Fotografien und anderen Objekten befassen, gehen die Künstler*innen den Erfahrungen von Unterdrückung, Widerstand und Migration nach. Sie untersuchen, wo und wie Spuren davon noch sichtbar sind. Gleichzeitig setzen sie sich kritisch damit auseinander, wie mit Archiven und Archivmaterial heute umgegangen werden kann und welche Rolle sie selbst als Wissensproduzent*innen einnehmen.

Mathilde ter Heijne, Women to Go, 2009 ongoing, Photo: Nihad Nino Pusija

Mathilde ter Heijne, Women to Go, 2009 ongoing, Photo: Nihad Nino Pusija

Die Ausstellung macht nicht nur Leerstellen der Geschichtsschreibung sichtbar, sondern fragt nach der Art des Wissens, das im Kontext der kolonialen Unternehmungen produziert und in Europa verbreitet worden ist. Wie und von wem wird Wissen über die Welt erzeugt? Wie wirken die komplexen Verflechtungen von Rassismus und Sexismus bis heute nach und wie kann Feminismus transkulturell und solidarisch gedacht und praktiziert werden?

ngbk.de

Kunst, Termine / , , , .
Trackback-URL.

Einen Kommentar abgeben

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*
*